Parents of a tween? Who’s ready for them to drive? Any hands raised? Um, not mine!
Reality check — one day I’m going to blink and my daughter’s going to be a teenager proudly flaunting her very own driver’s license. I can feel my hair turning grey just thinking about it.
Now’s the time to start educating your up and coming driver about the dangers they face when they get behind the wheel.
Let’s put alcohol near the top of that list of dangers! You don’t have to parent too long before you start hearing the horror stories. Tragically, one in ten highschoolers drink and drive according to Center for Disease Control.(https://www.cdc.gov/vitalsigns/teendrinkinganddriving/index.html)
GOOD NEWS! Teen drinking and driving has reduced more than 50% since the 1990s.
Zero tolerance laws may play a role in this. I also like to think that parents are stepping up to the plate and educating their teens.
Hello! I didn’t even know about zero tolerance laws before researching and writing this post . Drinking and driving has never been an issue in my family, so I just hadn’t paid attention. I’d like to hope drinking and driving never will be an issue for us, but our kids don’t come with guarantees, do they?
You need to be armed and ready with the facts about Missouri law and teen drinking and driving!
FACT # 1: Zero tolerance laws for drinking and driving under age 21 exist in all fifty states, not just Missouri.
Moving to Illinois will not help! Moving anywhere will not help. Tell your teen home sweet home is still the best option (or dorm sweet dorm).
FACT #2: Beware of one beer! That’s right. One measly beer and driving could seriously mess up your teen’s life and plans. ONE glass of wine, one cup of hard cider — you name it. Zero tolerance means zero.
NO blood alcohol content permitted!
FACT #3: Under zero tolerance laws, consequences are harsh! Take a minute to read your teens this news, even if you get the eyerolls.
One online driving course for teens (www.teendrivingcourse.com) listed the following possible results of a first time DUI offense in Missouri.
- Possible jail time of up to 6 months (That’s more than half a school year.)
- If you’re lucky, a license restricture of 60 days.
- $45 License Reinstatement fee – there goes your allowance!
- Possible $500 fine – now you’re out of a few paychecks IF you can still get to work!
- Possible Ignition Interlock Device installation — more money, more time, more hassle.
- License suspension 30 days — if you’re not in jail, you still can’t go anywhere!
Does this sound like a nightmare to your teen? It should!
Talk to your early teen driver. Ask them some thought-provoking questions.
How would it feel to have to get pulled over when they’ve had just one beer?
What would it be like to dread facing a judge in court?
Worse yet, can they imagine spending time in jail?
Do they want to graduate with their class or start college soon?
What about losing their driving privileges? Would that cost them their job? Their employment records might be trashed!
Is one drink really worth all this shame and sorrow?
Knowing the consequences of the zero-tolerance teen drinking and driving laws just might change your teen’s mind about having a drink.
Sometimes we have to learn our lessons the hard way! If your teen is already facing a DUI charge, you need an aggressive, experienced Missouri DUI attorney! http://steimel-law.com/traffic-matters.html
The Law Offices of Nathan A. Steimel, LLC understand what is at stake for a young person under 21 facing DUI charges.
It’s worth a free initial consultation to see if you can get a life-time of consequences reduced! You will get a fair and thorough evaluation of your teen’s case and the best possible outcome. Call 636-244-3737 today for your free case evaluation.
This website is designed for general information only. The information presented on this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice or the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.